Our unschooling day 10/25/16

Standard

Today was a stay around the house sort of day. I made some pumpkin bread for us. I love Trader Joe’s canned pumpkin out of all that I have tried. The bread was a big hit. Then Grandma came over to visit the kids, have a cup of coffee, and chat.

While the baby was napping, the kids and I decided to put together a chocolate cookie haunted house kit that I picked up from the store. This was trickier than it looked, but we figured it out. The kids had fun decorating, putting on/eating the candy, and expressing some of their creativity.

14856113_10211349141983962_3527936493871055389_o.jpg

After lunch, I noticed that Hailey had frozen some water in a kid’s size bowl in the freezer. I pulled it out and her and Elijah both tried to eat it. I do not what it is about kids and ice, but it seems to fascinate them. I went to nurse the baby when Hailey called me back in to check out her “science experiment”. She had placed a piece of finned metal under the ice to see what would happen. To their surprise the ice had started to melt faster and was indented in the shape of the fins of the metal. They both got a kick out of that.

14718664_10211349141223943_5993227021701102910_n

I had been working on roasted veggie spaghetti for a while, and when it was done I nervously served up the kids. Hailey has recently began trying many new foods, but usually she has many reservations when things taste different. Luckily, she loved the pasta and I loved that she got some extra veggies. I told Elijah it was veggie spaghetti like they served on Daniel Tiger.

The kids have been acting out pac man characters for a while now. We will read books and settle down soon.

How was your day?

Leave a Reply

