Cuddle and Connections in our Carrier

Standard

This is another throwback post. My daughter is now 5.5, but the words are just as true for my 3 year old and my 4.5 month old.

531348_3840658014628_838665722_n

My daughter just turned two years old this past Mother’s day. As with any two year olds she is on the go constantly; she always is setting out to do something very important: tower building, chalk drawings, reading her books, playing with her “babies”, and singing are amongst her favorites. Every day I look at her and she amazes me. My once high needs baby is now an active toddler who I barely get to hold. It is so bittersweet.

worn

Luckily for Mommy, there is one exception and that is when she is being worn. This is the one time that she allows me to be close to her for more than 2.6 seconds. This is when I once again can just look down and kiss her forehead, or stare into her big beautiful blue eyes. This is when I get to read her cues before she even gives them. This is when I get my baby back for a little while. I actually kind of make excuses to try and wear her just for this time. Our normal wear times are at grocery stores, or farmer’s markets, or quick trips elsewhere. I offer to wear her when I cook or do major cleaning or even when we take our daily walks. Usually I can get away with it for a few minutes at fun activities, before she is demanding to run around, but those few minutes are priceless to me. She is growing so very fast, and in a few months she will have a baby brother or sister. It would be awesome for me to have another carrier for my husband so that when we have two little ones, both can be worn if needed. I never want her to feel pushed out of the way for the new baby. If she wants to be held Mamma or Papa will always be there even if there is a new baby; because she is MY baby too and I will wear her for as long as she’ll let me.

12244239_1055314504501743_962604456167628517_o

Leave a Reply

