Ramblings…

Standard

I’m in the mood to ramble and type for no reason. There will be no profound insight in this journal like post. We have had a difficult week. Not a life is difficult type week; more so the kids are grumpy, Mommy is distracted, the baby fussy for some unknown reason difficult type week. We were able to end this rough week on a good note. Today we met some friends at Chick-fil-a and ate and played. It was a good time that was much needed.

The weekend is here, and I am looking forward to some family time. My oldest is looking forward to spending a night with her Grandma, which means more room for us in the big bed. I am looking forward to a few days with extra cups of coffee with my husband. The weekend is my favorite. I am trying to claim this weekend as a positive one. Sometimes, I get so many ideas in my head for the weekend; so much that I want to accomplish in those two short days, that I get anxious and end up not actually enjoying it. I am trying to become more aware of that and start out in a realistic expectations mindset.

I love how a day of play gave us all a much needed reset. It is amazing how sometimes that is all it takes to get back on track. Play is so good for kids (and adults!). It is so much more than what you see on the surface. Play is literally the language of childhood and so much learning is happening while children are playing. We are naturally pretty lax around here, maybe even too much at times, but time for free play is a priority.

Speaking of play, I have been noticing my 3 year-old’s play has been changing. He has started playing some more independently. I have also noticed that his play has been including more social fantasy. He has been pretending toys talk to each other and having them hold conversations. I remember doing that as a child. It makes me smile. I like when I can pick up on these subtle milestones because it is like an outward show of maturity.

I think that is all I had to get out. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

